COO website

History of the Chiefs of Ontario

In March of 1975, at the First Annual All Ontario Chiefs Conference, a joint First Nations Association Coordinating Committee was formed, constituting an unincorporated federation of the four major Ontario First Nation organizations. The purpose of the committee was to provide a single Ontario representative to the Assembly of First Nations (then, the National Indian Brotherhood). From this committee emerged the Chiefs of Ontario office whose basic purpose is to enable the political leadership to discuss and to decide on regional, provincial and national priorities affecting First Nation people in Ontario and to provide a unified voice on these issues. For more information, see:

Chronology of Ontario Regional Chiefs

  • Peter Tobasonakwut Kelly - June 1982 - Spring 1983
  • Patrick Madahbee - Spring 1983 to June 1983
  • Wally McKay - June 1983 1985
  • Gordon Peters - June 1985 to June 1997
  • Tom Bressette - June 1997 to June 2000
  • Charles Fox - June 2000 to June 2005
  • Angus Toulouse - June 2005 to June 2012
  • Stan Beardy - June 2012 to present


COO LogoAbout the Logo: The circle and the map represents the continuity, strength and harmony of the First Nations peoples of Ontario; the five feathers signify the four political organizations of the Chiefs of Ontario; the fifth feather represents the independent nations and First Nation peoples living off reserve, First Nations who are not forgotten. The overall symbol represents the continuance of the First Nations peoples of Ontario struggle for pride, culture, self-determination and spirituality.