Ontario Regional Chief RoseAnne Archibald Statement on Today’s Ontario Cabinet Shuffle

June 20, 2019 3:23 pm
Published by

(Toronto, ON, June 20, 2019) – Ontario Regional Chief RoseAnne Archibald welcomes the new Ontario cabinet members and those others impacted by today’s cabinet shuffle in their new portfolio’s.

“On behalf of the Chiefs of Ontario, I’d like to welcome and offer my congratulations to those coming into Premier Ford’s cabinet, and I look forward to working with those Ministers involved in today’s cabinet shuffle in their new and or existing assignments. I would like to acknowledge Minister Greg Rickford, who remains as Minister responsible for Indigenous Affairs, as stability, experience and knowledge of the Indigenous community and issues is essential for good relations and moving First Nations matters forward.

Also recognizing the stability of core ministers on files important to First Nations, such as the Solicitor General, Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, Christine Elliott and Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry, John Yakabuski, is also appreciated.

We look forward to continuing to work with Ministers with whom we’ve developed positive relations such as Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities, Ross Romano and Minister of Children, Community and Social Services, Todd Smith amongst others in their new roles.

The Chiefs of Ontario look forward to working with the new cabinet, and look to reach out immediately to those in new portfolio’s, to create new relationships and build on positive relations already established with Ontario.  We hope to that with today’s shuffle, that Ontario will continue to be responsive to First Nations issues and move forward on our shared priorities.”

Ontario Regional Chief RoseAnne Archibald


The Chiefs of Ontario is a political forum and a secretariat for collective decision making, action, and advocacy for the 133 First Nation communities located within the boundaries of the province of Ontario, Canada. Follow Chiefs of Ontario on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter @ChiefsOfOntario.

Media Contact: Scott Cavan, Scott.Cavan@coo.org or cell: 416-522-0706

Categorised in: ,

Back to Top